Stellar Line-up for First Citizens Sports Awards

March 6th, 2024    |   Related To: First Citizens

Stellar Line-up for First Citizens Sports Awards 2024 article photo 3
Photo (centre) Roger Gibbon, Sportsman of the Year 1962, 1965, 1967 and Hall of Fame 1985 inductee for Cycling, presented Top 10 awards to the 2022 senior finalists.

Foundation is thrilled to announce the much-anticipated nominees for the upcoming 2023
Sports Awards Gala carded for March 16, 2024 at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, Port of Spain.
This prestigious event will honour the outstanding achievements of over 100 athletes who
have demonstrated unparalleled skill, dedication and sportsmanship across various disciplines.
Also scheduled to take place at the event will be the induction of awardees into the Sports
Hall of Fame for 2024.

Under the theme “More Than Conquerors”, this year’s nominees embody the spirit of
resilience, determination and triumph. Whether overcoming adversity, breaking barriers, or
inspiring others through their actions, each nominee has left an indelible mark representing
Trinidad and Tobago in the world of sports.

Stellar Line-up for First Citizens Sports Awards 202 Pic 1
Photo (centre): Dr. Iva Gloudon, Hall of Fame 2020 inductee for Sports Administration after her presentation to the 2022 Top 10 youth finalists.

Chairperson of the First Citizens Sports Foundation Committee – Dr Terry Ali commented, “We
are incredibly excited to unveil this exceptional line up of nominees as each individual
represents the epitome of athletic excellence and the strength of their character to overcome
the adversities that were inherent during this difficult period of their athletic careers. We thank
them for their courage and most of all their ability to perform during these circumstances.”

Stellar Line-up for First Citizens Sports Awards 202 Pic 2
Photo (centre) Senator the Honourable Randall Mitchell, Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts, (acting Minister of Sport and Community Development in March 2023) welcomed the 2023 Sports Hall of Fame inductees at the First Citizens Sports Awards last year.

To see this year’s list of remarkable athletes nominated from over 30 sports for the 61st
annual First Citizens Sports Awards, visit and read their bios.

 Sports Awards 2023 Awardees 

1Dylan CarterAquaticsSenior
2Cherelle ThompsonAquaticsSenior
3Nikoli BlackmanAquaticsYouth
4Tyla Ho-A-ShuAquaticsYouth
5Justin RamkalawanArcherySenior
6Alexi JaggernauthArcherySenior
7Joshua RagbirArcheryYouth
8Jereem RichardsAthleticsSenior
9Michelle-Lee AhyeAthleticsSenior
10Imanni MatthewAthleticsYouth
11Janae De GannesAthleticsYouth
12Will LeeBadmintonSenior
13Chequeda De BouletBadmintonSenior
14Vishal RamsubhagBadmintonYouth
15Amara UrquhartBadmintonYouth
16Aaron PrinceBoxingSenior
17Tianna GuyBoxingSenior
18Makieve BellilleBoxingYouth
19Reyah JohnBoxingYouth
20Nicholas RobinsonCanoe SprintSenior
21Joshua JohnsonChessSenior
22Obdullis Hermoso RodriguezChessSenior
23Joshua MedinaChessYouth
24Zara La FleurChessYouth
25Brandon SinghCircuit RacingSenior
26Sarah PartapsinghCircuit RacingSenior
27Darren BravoCricketSenior
28Brendan BoodooCricketYouth
29Nicholas PaulCyclingSenior
30Alexi Costa-RamirezCyclingSenior
31Syndel SamarooCyclingYouth
32Makaira WallaceCyclingYouth
33James WalklinDartsSenior
34Karen Ramcharan-ScottDartsSenior
35Vivek GuptaDartsYouth
36Teague MarcanoField HockeySenior
37Kayla BraithwaiteField HockeySenior
38Robyn DashField HockeyYouth
39Levi GarciaFootballSenior
40Victoria SwiftFootballSenior
41Lindell SweenFootballYouth
42J’Eleisha AlexanderFootballYouth
43Christopher Richards Jr.GolfSenior
44Chloe AjodhaGolfYouth & Senior
45Jameel AliGymnasticsSenior
46Annalise Newman-AcheeGymnasticsYouth
47Brian BoodramsinghHorse RacingSenior
48Gabriella WoodJudoSenior
49Aidan GreavesJudoYouth
50Jyri SpicerKarateSenior
51Roshelle Lue-FattKarateSenior
52Landon BatsonKarateYouth
53Cassidy SamKarateYouth
54Aran SharmaKartingYouth
55Naomi GarciaKartingYouth
56Immanuel RussellNetballSenior
57Jeresia Mc EachraneNetballSenior
58Shian LewisNetballYouth
59Wilmana StewartPara AthleticsSenior
60Issiah WilliamsPara AthleticsYouth
61Jonathan MouttetPowerboat RacingSenior
62Joseph Mc DonaldPowerliftingSenior
63Lois SprangPowerliftingSenior
64Craig SumairRallyingSenior
65Nigel BallingtonRugbySenior
66Ketara MunroeRugbySenior
67Elijah WilliamsRugbyYouth
68Zoe Mc KnightRugbyYouth
69Thomas NicholasShooting SportsSenior
70Ayaz NicholasShooting SportsYouth
71Daniella ScottShooting SportsYouth
72Dave SamdeoSport Martial ArtsSenior
73Christian WinterSport Martial ArtsYouth
74Chelsea WinterSport Martial ArtsYouth
75Don LeeSquashSenior
76Rhea KhanSquashSenior
77Seth ThongSquashYouth
78Gia GhuranSquashYouth
79Khaleel AsgaraliTable TennisSenior
80Rheann ChungTable TennisSenior
81Malik GopaulTable TennisYouth
82Chloe FraserTable TennisYouth
83Akiel DukeTennisSenior
84Jordane DookieTennisSenior & Youth
85Kale Dalla CostaTennisYouth
86Jean GrandersonTriathlonSenior
87Kaya BeadleTriathlonSenior
88Jacob CoxTriathlonYouth
89Jenae PriceTriathlonYouth
90Kameron DonaldVolleyballSenior
91Krystle EsdelleVolleyballSenior
92Jerome MorrisonVolleyballYouth
93L’fé RobertsVolleyballYouth
94Karishma RamharackWomen’s CricketSenior
95Kdjazz MitchellWomen’s CricketYouth

Special Olympics Awardees

96Cadell CuffyAthleticsN/A
97Melissa NananAthleticsN/A
98Patrice PennieEquestrianN/A
99Nathaniel LewisEquestrianN/A
100Malachi SylvesterPowerliftingN/A
101Kadafie AnthonyPowerliftingN/A
102Trent BethelSwimmingN/A
103Victoria SamuelSwimmingN/A